Lilla Bölecz (HUN)

預訂 2017 年 iJUNGLE 插畫獎金獎

https://lillabolecz.com

1. 你能簡單介紹一下你自己,你來自哪裡,你在哪裡學習......?

我是一名插畫家和圖形藝術家,居住在匈牙利布達佩斯。我的熱情是在想像和現實的基礎上創造奇特的、發人深省的、神秘的場景、人物和世界。我在 KREA 當代藝術學院獲得了平面藝術和設計學位。我是一名自由插畫師和表面圖案設計師,同時創作自發的藝術項目,並在整個歐洲展出我的作品。目前我正在製作一本插圖豐富的兒童讀物,一個神奇的日曆,剛剛開始了一個令人興奮的新個人項目。

2. 你為什麼會成為一名插畫師?

插圖對我來說主要不是視覺效果。這更像是一次自我認識(潛入深海)和自我發展(升星)的遠征。成為真實自我的內心冒險。另一方面,這是與可以與我的作品相關的其他人的有意義的聯繫。我想激勵他們踏上尋找寶藏的旅程。成為一名插畫師對我來說並不像一條筆直的道路。即使在我還是個孩子的時候,我就一直對視覺效果著迷,但首先我在大學學習了社會工作。這是一次偉大的冒險,真的塑造了我的世界觀,但我覺得我錯過了一些東西。當我被 KREA 錄取時,我立刻覺得我終於找到了我的目標(至少是我的一個目標 :))。雖然我想成為一名插畫師,但我開始在創意機構工作,從傳單到徽標,無所不包。這是一次痛苦的經歷,但讓我更加堅定,我在那裡學到了很多東西。我可以逐漸轉向全職插畫並建立自己的品牌。這些事件讓我更加感激我可以做我喜歡做的事。這是我必須為之努力並堅持下去的東西,我真的很需要它。

3. 您最欣賞哪些藝術家/事物?他們對您的作品有何影響?

我的作品主要受到神秘主義、自然、精神體驗、神話、考古和文學的啟發。我發現神秘的、煉金術的插圖和神話故事的象徵意義很吸引人。我對視覺表達概念的過程很感興趣,而不僅僅是創造裝飾性的東西,所以我的藝術經常受到思想而不是圖像的影響。當然,我喜歡看藝術,我的一些偶像是 Remedios Varo 和 Leonora Carrington。

 

4. 你是如何找到自己的風格的?自從你開始以來它有變化嗎?

在我看來,風格會隨著我們的個性而不斷發展。我不會說我找到了我的終極風格,而是一個我喜歡的方向。我經常覺得這是一團糟,但我喜歡稱它為“有遠見的”,因為我認為我的藝術是精神世界和物質世界的熔爐,我正在尋找方法來表達我們日常感知之外的整個宇宙.無論如何,我認為為了找到這個方向,我必須同時研究它而不是同時研究它。我的意思是風格不僅僅是我喜歡的外觀,而是生活經驗和世界觀積累的東西。退出創意機構後,我去土耳其徒步旅行了2-3個月。我需要真正的改變。我決心最終畫很多,畫一切!相反,我幾乎不做任何與藝術相關的事情,而是專注於每一刻——並擺脫了那裡的很多負擔。回到家後,我的藝術開始迅速發展。之後發生了許多這樣的轉折。

 

5. 您能簡單描述一下您的創作過程嗎?

當我有了一個想法、一個簡介或一本書來說明時,我通常會對我想立即做的事情有一個願景,但最好先讓它成熟。我開始在其他活動中做白日夢,直到我有更多細節。我通常會對事物的外觀進行大量研究,並閱讀相關主題(更不用說無關的主題!)以熟悉特定的哲學或神話。這會花費很多時間,因為我想知道一切,但我忍住並開始素描,總是先用鉛筆在紙上。例如,當我畫一個角色時,我經常創建多個版本,直到有一個我喜歡的版本。然後這取決於我想使用的技術,但最近我以數字方式工作,所以我掃描我的草圖並開始在計算機上重新繪製它們。當作品開始呈現最終形式時,這令人興奮,我可以嘗試顏色。

 

6. 你工作中最好和最壞的部分是什麼?

最好的部分之一是聆聽其他人對我個人作品的解釋。我經常下意識地創造這些圖像,有時如果沒有不同人的洞察力,我什至不會注意到相關性。我了解我自己的插圖和我自己。最糟糕的是我經常坐在電腦前。

 

7. 快速回答:

最喜歡的電影:電影很棒,例如我喜歡 Bab'Aziz,但我通常更喜歡書。我最喜歡的作家包括 Hermann Hesse、Alexandro Jodorowsky,當然還有 Gabriel García Márquez。最喜歡的工作音樂:Darkwave、中世紀、哥特和民間音樂,但我真的會聽各種各樣的音樂,喜歡探索樂隊和風格。有時給定的作品定義了我聽的音樂,但有時它完全無關。我可以一邊畫可愛的動物一邊聽重金屬,感覺完全正常。最喜歡的愛好:我喜歡冥想、遠足、水晶、植物和 DIY 項目。魔法願望:我想看看面紗的背後。

 

8. 關於插圖或其他方面,你得到的最好的建議是什麼?

我在大學時就听說了終身學習的概念,我覺得這個想法真的很適合我。如果我們保持好奇和開放的心態,開始新事物永遠不會太晚。

maria_mandinga.jpg
cover_ofloveandotherdemons.jpg

哥倫比亞作家加布里埃爾·加西亞·馬爾克斯 (Gabriel Garcia Márquez)的“愛與其他惡魔”的封面設計和插圖。

water.jpg

水元素和魔術師與象徵性的動物、植物、形狀和顏色一起工作。

samhain.jpg

水元素和魔術師與象徵性的動物、植物、形狀和顏色一起工作。

Lilla Bölecz (HUN)​

BOOK GOLD MEDAL iJUNGLE ILLUSTRATIONS AWARDS 2017

https://lillabolecz.com

1. Can you tell us a little about yourself, where you’re from, where you study…?

I’m an illustrator and graphic artist based in Budapest, Hungary. My passion is to create peculiar, thought-provoking, mystical scenes, characters and worlds based on both imagination and reality. I got my graphic art and design degree here in KREA Contemporary Arts Institute. I work as a freelance illustrator and surface pattern designer, in the same time creating selfinitiated art projects and having my work exhibited throughout Europe. Currently I’m working on a richly illustrated kids book, a magical calendar and just started an exciting new personal project.

2. Why did you become an illustrator?

Illustration is mostly not about visuals for me. It’s more like an expedition of selfknowledge (diving to the deep) and self-development (ascending to the stars). An inner adventure to become my true self. On the other hand, it’s a meaningful connection with others who can relate to my works. I’d like to inspire them on their own journey to find treasures. Becoming an illustrator was nothing like a straight path to me. I’ve always been fascinated by visuals even as a kid, but first I studied social work in college. It was a great adventure and really fashioned my worldview, but I sensed I was missing out on something. When I was accepted to KREA I instantly felt that I’d finally found my purpose (at least one of my purposes :) ). Though I desired to be an illustrator, I started working at creative agencies and did everything from flyers to logos. It was a painful experience, but made me more determined and I learned a lot there. I could gradually move to full time illustration and build my own brand. These events made me more grateful that I can do what I love. It was something I had to work for and persevere with, and I really needed that.

3. What artists/things do you most admire and how did they influence your work?

My work is mostly inspired by mysticism, nature, spiritual experiences, mythology, archeology and literature. I find occult, alchemical illustrations and the symbolism of mythological stories fascinating. I’m intrigued by the process of visually expressing a concept not merely creating something decorative, so my art is often influenced by thoughts rather than images. Of course I love to look at art and some of my idols are Remedios Varo and Leonora Carrington.

 

4. How did you find your style? Has it changed since you started?

In my opinion style is constantly evolving with our personality. I wouldn’t say that I found my ultimate style, but a direction I enjoy taking. I often feel it’s a mess, but I like to call it ‘visionary’, because I consider my art as a crucible of the spiritual and the material worlds and I’m looking for ways to express that there are whole universes beyond our everyday perception. Anyway, I think in order to find this direction, I had to both work on it and NOT work on it in the same time. I mean style is not only something I like the appearance of but something accumulated by life experiences and worldview. After quitting creative agency, I went to a hiking trip to Turkey for 2-3 months. I needed a real change. I was determined to finally draw a lot, to draw everything! Instead I hardly did anything art related, but absorbed every moment - and got rid of a lot of burden there. When arriving home, my art started to flourish rapidly. Many turning points like this took place afterwards.

 

5. Can you briefly describe your creative process?

When I get an idea, a brief or a book to illustrate I usually have a vision of what I want to do right away, but it’s good to just let it ripen first. I start daydreaming about it during other activities until I have more details. I usually do a lot of research on how stuff looks like and read about related topics (not to mention the unrelated ones!) to get familiar with a particular philosophy or mythology. This would take a lot of time because I want to know everything, but I hold myself back and start sketching, always on paper with pencil first. For example when I draw a character I often create several versions until there’s one that I like. Then it depends on the technique I want to use, but lately I work a lot digitally so I scan my sketches and start repainting them on the computer. It’s exciting as the work starts to take it’s final form and I can experiment with colours.

 

6. Best and worst part of your job?

One of the best parts is listening to interpretations of my personal works by others. I often create these images subconsciously and sometimes I wouldn’t even notice correlations without the insights of different people. I learn about my own illustrations and myself. The worst part is that I sit a lot at the computer.

 

7. Quick answers:

Favorite movies: Movies are great, for example I loved Bab’Aziz but I’m generally more into books. My favourite authors among others are Hermann Hesse, Alexandro Jodorowsky and of course Gabriel García Márquez. Favorite musics to work: Darkwave, medieval, goth and folk stuff but I really listen to a wide range of music and love to explore bands and styles. Sometimes the given work defines the music I listen to, but another time it’s totally unrelated. I’m able to listen to heavy metal while drawing a cute animal and feel totally normal. Favorite Hobbies: I love meditating, hiking, crystals, plants and DIY projects. Magic wish: I’d like to see behind the veil.

 

8. What is the best piece advice you’ve had, in regards to illustration or otherwise?

I heard the concept of lifelong learning back in college and I feel the idea really suits me. It’s never too late to start something new if we stay curious and open-minded.

maria_mandinga.jpg
cover_ofloveandotherdemons.jpg

Cover design and illustrations for ‘Of Love and Other Demons’ from Colombian author Gabriel Garcia Márquez.

water.jpg

The element Water and a magician working with it along with symbolic animals, plants, shapes and colours.

samhain.jpg

The element Water and a magician working with it along with symbolic animals, plants, shapes and colours.