瑞安·加西亞 (CAN)

2019 年 iJUNGLE 插畫獎編輯金獎和最佳獲獎者

https://ryangarcia.ca

 

1. 能不能簡單介紹一下你自己,你來自哪裡,你在哪裡學習,你現在在哪裡?

我的名字是 Ryan Garcia,我是一名編輯插畫師,在加拿大多倫多工作。我在多倫多的塞內卡學院學習插畫,在過去的兩年半里,我一直很高興地全職自由職業。我很幸運有一些很棒的客戶,包括《紐約時報》、《科學美國人》、《連線》和《華爾街日報》——這幾年太棒了!

 

2.你為什麼會成為一名插畫師?

在決定學習插圖之前,我實際上學習了建築學,並且正在成為一名建築師。和很多人一樣,我真的不知道我高中畢業後想做什麼,所以我決定模仿我哥哥正在做的事情,並報讀了一個建築項目。然而,在那段時間裡,我還在一個搖滾樂隊中演奏貝斯(並且比我的學習更認真)。令我的老師煩惱的是,在大多數講座中,我會塗鴉樂隊標誌、搖滾海報、舞台設計等等。儘管當時我並不知道,但我所做的很多事情都是插圖。所以畢業後,我不得不做出決定,是先踏入建築世界——也就是畫門窗——還是回到學校做別的事情。大約在 Instagram 火爆的時候,我偶然發現了藝術和插圖的世界。對我來說幸運的是,純粹是偶然,我在那裡發現了一些了不起的藝術家(David Choe、James Jean、Jeff Soto 是我的最愛)並決定轉向藝術世界。呼,關門大吉。

 

3.您最欣賞哪些藝術家/事物,他們對您的作品有何影響?

就插畫師而言,我真的很佩服那些注重思路清晰和執行清晰的人。當有人能夠將深刻的概念提煉成非常簡單甚至極簡的繪畫時,它總是看起來很神奇。 Christoph Niemann 和 Istvan Banyai 就是很好的例子——很明顯我借用了他們的很多視覺語言。電影製作人最近對我也特別有啟發。我最近讀了邁克爾本森的“太空漫遊”,這本書概述了斯坦利庫布里克如何創作他的傑作 2001:太空漫遊,我發現電影製作和插圖之間有很多相似之處。很明顯,藝術的基本原理(形式、空間、顏色、光線等)同樣適用於主要電影,就像我在編輯插圖中所做的一樣。同樣,我一直痴迷於電影製作人 Yorgos Lanthimos(《寵兒》的導演)。如果你還沒有看過他的任何電影,我絕對建議你從 Dogtooth 開始,光是視覺效果就讓你大吃一驚。

 

4.你是如何找到自己的風格的?

自從你開始以來它有變化嗎?我認為像風格這樣的東西應該隨著時間的推移而自然發展,人們不應該考慮太多。特別是在編輯插圖的世界中,無論您喜歡與否,您的風格都會發展。在這方面,我的建議是盡可能多地從生活中汲取靈感,真正訓練自己去觀察將有助於發展“風格”。在風格方面,緊迫的截止日期也是無情的,你畫畫的方式你已經習慣了畫畫。我很喜歡希臘詩人 Archilochus 的一句名言:“我們沒有上升到我們期望的水平,我們下降到了我們訓練的水平”。我認為它非常適用;您的風格將是您在最極端的限制和條件下繪製的方式。完成插圖後,我會經常回去嘗試確定哪些有效,哪些無效。 “我喜歡這件作品的什麼地方?我討厭什麼?”最近,我完全沉迷於線條的簡潔和最小的調色板,所以我盡量確保每件作品中至少有這兩個元素。是那種風格?我不知道,但這是我喜歡的。所以我會繼續努力弄清楚。

 

5.您能簡單描述一下您的創作過程嗎?

就編輯插圖畫家而言,我的過程非常標準。首先,藝術總監會寄給我一篇文章的摘要——可能是整篇文章,有時甚至只有幾個字——我會開始集思廣益。我會推薦兩本書來開發紮實的頭腦風暴技術,分別是 Edward De Bono 的“橫向思維”和 Nicholas Roukes 的“Art Synectics”。從那時起,我將對最強烈的想法進行一些嚴格的草圖(顯然這是主觀的),然後通過電子郵件將它們發回給藝術總監。我通常會發送大約 4 到 6 個想法。一旦他們批准了其中一個概念,我就會進入決賽。創建最終的藝術品通常分為 4 個階段。 1) 緊縮構圖:取最初的概念並加以提煉。然後 2) 價值研究:確保圖像中有很強的色調層次。在我看來,這個階段決定了圖像的成敗——當我本應該花更多時間在價值觀上時,我通過過快地上色來完成許多插圖。我推薦 Molly Bang 的“Picture This”以獲取更多關於構圖和價值的信息。 3) 線條作品,無論是數字完成還是用畫筆完成。最後,4) 顏色、紋理和效果。

6. 工作中最好和最壞的部分。

老實說,最好的部分是我可以成為自己的老闆。不必早起和通勤上班是一件美好的事情。為了支付學費,我在一家汽車廠工作,每天早上 5 點必須起床才能準時到達。我很感激我可以自己設定時間並穿著睡衣工作。我永遠不會克服這一點。這份工作最糟糕的部分是社會孤立。當然,我是一個非常內向的人,所以大部分時間在家工作很好,但通常到週末我真的很渴望社交互動。

 

7. 快速回答:

最喜歡的工作音樂:我工作時主要聽播客,但有時我會放一些古典音樂或嘻哈節拍。最喜歡的愛好:瑜伽、喝咖啡,平時不一樣。神奇的願望:與 David Choe 的噴漆課會很棒。

 

8. 關於插圖或其他方面,你得到的最好的建議是什麼?

“那些晉升最多的人,得到最多的工作。”這是我從 youtube 上的 Mark Matcho 講座中獲得的一條建議。如果你不知道 Mark 的作品,一定要查一下他的作品,他的作品很棒。馬克說要“儘早、經常推廣”,我完全同意。年輕的插畫家經常會有一點錯覺,認為只要他們在創作偉大的藝術,工作就會神奇地來到他們身邊。當然,像社交媒體這樣的被動平台確實可以幫助您將作品傳播出去,但也不要高估積極宣傳精美插圖的力量。我認識的許多藝術總監都非常喜歡看到你的新作品和你一直在做的事情,所以讓他們輕鬆一點。發送電子郵件、郵寄明信片、參加聚會並親自與潛在客戶聯繫!它不能被誇大,不要害怕走出去宣傳你的工作。

Insta1080x1350-Best of The Best5.jpg
Insta1080x1350-Best of The Best4.jpg
Insta1080x1350-Best of The Best.jpg

一名警官射殺一名少年震驚了全市。他的信念應該迫使這座城市

Insta1080x1350-Best of The Best3.jpg
Insta1080x1350-Best of The Best2.jpg

Ryan Garcia (CAN)​

EDITORIAL GOLD MEDAL AND BEST OF THE BEST WINNER OF THE iJUNGLE ILLUSTRATIONS AWARDS 2019

https://ryangarcia.ca

 

1. Can you tell us a little about yourself, where you’re from, where you studied, and where you are at now?

My name is Ryan Garcia and I’m an editorial illustrator working in Toronto, Canada. I studied illustration at Toronto’s Seneca College, and I’ve been happily freelancing full time for the past two and half years. I’ve been lucky enough with some wonderful clients including The New York Times, Scientific American, WIRED, and The Wall Street Journal — it’s been a great couple of years!

 

2.Why did you become an illustrator?

Before deciding to study illustration, I actually studied architecture and was well on my way to becoming an architect. Like many people, I really didn’t know what I wanted to do after high school, and so I decided to copycat what my brother was doing and enroll in an architecture program. During that time, however, I was also playing bass in a rock band (and taking it much more seriously than my studies). To my teachers’ annoyance, during most lectures, I’d be doodling band logos, rock posters, stage designs, all that stuff. Even though I didn’t know it at the time, a lot of what I was doing was illustration. So after graduation, I had to make a decision whether to jump feet-first into the world of architecture — a.k.a. drawing doors and windows — or go back to school for something else. This was around the time Instagram was exploding and I stumbled on the world of art and illustration. Luckily for me, by sheer happenstance, I discovered some amazing artists on there (David Choe, James Jean, Jeff Soto were my favs) and decided to shift gears into the art world. Whew, close call.

 

3.What artists/things do you most admire and how did they influence your work?

In terms of illustrators, I really admire those who focus on clarity of thought and clarity of execution. It always looks like magic when someone is able to distill a profound concept into a very simple, even minimalist, drawing. Christoph Niemann and Istvan Banyai are great examples of this — and it’s probably very obvious that I’ve borrowed much of their visual language. Filmmakers have also been particularly inspirational to me lately. I recently read Michael Benson’s “Space Odyssey”, a book which outlines how Stanley Kubrick created his masterpiece 2001: A Space Odyssey, and I found so many parallels between filmmaking and illustration. It’s clear that the fundamentals of art (form, space, colour, light, etc.) apply just as strongly to a major motion picture as they would to what I do in editorial illustration. Also in the same vein, I’ve been obsessed with the filmmaker Yorgos Lanthimos (director of The Favourite). If you haven’t yet seen any of his films, I’d definitely recommend starting with Dogtooth, the visuals alone blow your mind.

 

4.How did you find your style?

Has it changed since you started? I think something like style should develop naturally over time, and one shouldn’t think too much about it. Especially in the world of editorial illustration, your style will develop whether you like it or not. My advice in this regard is to draw as much as you can from life, really training yourself to see will aid in developing “style”. Tight deadlines are also unforgiving when it comes to style, you draw the way you’ve conditioned yourself to draw. There’s a famous quote that I love by the Greek poet Archilochus, “We don’t rise to the level of our expectations, we fall to the level of our training”. I think it very much applies; your style is going to be the way you draw under the most extreme of constrictions and conditions. After I’m finished an illustration, I’ll often go back and try to pinpoint what’s working and what’s not. “What do I like about this piece? What do I hate?” Lately I’ve been absolutely obsessed with brevity of linework and minimal colour pallets, so I try to make sure at least those 2 elements are in every piece. Is that style? I don’t know, but it’s what I like. So I’ll keep trying to figure it out.

 

5.Can you briefly describe your creative process?

My process is pretty standard as far as editorial illustrators go. First, the art director will send me a brief of the article — it could be the full article or sometimes even as small as just a few words — and I’ll begin to brainstorm out ideas. Two books I’d recommend for developing solid brainstorming techniques are “Lateral Thinking” by Edward De Bono and “Art Synectics” by Nicholas Roukes. From that point I’ll do some tightened sketches of the strongest ideas (obviously this is subjective) and email them back to the art director. I’ll usually send around 4 to 6 ideas. Once they’ve approved one of the concepts, I’ll go ahead to final. Creating the final artwork usually goes in 4 stages. 1) Tightening the composition: taking the initial concept and refining it. Then 2) Value studies: making sure there’s a strong tonal hierarchy in the image. In my opinion, this stage makes or breaks an image — I’ve f***ed up MANY illustrations by jumping too quickly to colour when I should’ve spent more time with values. I recommend “Picture This” by Molly Bang for more on composition and values. 3) Linework, either done digitally or with a brush. And finally, 4) Colour, textures, and effects.

6. Best and worst part of your job.

Honestly, the best part is I get to be my own boss. Not having to wake up early and commute to work is a beautiful thing. To pay for my school tuition, I worked in a car factory where I’d have to wake up at 5am everyday to get there on time. I’m so grateful that I can set my own hours and work in my pajamas. I’ll never get over that. The worst part of the job is the social isolation. Naturally I’m a pretty introverted guy, so working from home is great most of the time, but usually by the end of the week I’m really craving social interaction.

 

7. Quick answers:

Favorite music to work: I mainly listen to podcasts when I work, but sometimes I’ll throw on some classical music or hip hop beats. Favorite Hobbies: Yoga, drinking coffee, usually not as the same time. Magic wish: A spray painting lesson with David Choe would be awesome.

 

8. What is the best piece advice you’ve had, in regards to illustration or otherwise?

“Those who promote the most, get the most work.” This is a piece of advice I picked up from a Mark Matcho lecture on youtube. If you don’t know Mark’s work, definitely look him up, his work is awesome. Mark says to “promote early, and often”, and I completely agree. Frequently young illustrators get a little delusion and think that as long as they’re making great art, jobs will just magically come to them. Sure, passive platforms like social media can really help getting your work out there, but don’t overestimate the power of actively promoting your beautiful illustrations as well. Many art directors I know absolutely love seeing your new work and what you’ve been up to, so make it easy for them. Send emails, mail out postcards, go to meetups, and connect with potential clients in person! It can’t be overstated, don’t be afraid to get out there and promote your work.

Insta1080x1350-Best of The Best5.jpg
Insta1080x1350-Best of The Best4.jpg
Insta1080x1350-Best of The Best.jpg

An officer’s shooting of a teenager shocked the city. His conviction should force the city

Insta1080x1350-Best of The Best3.jpg
Insta1080x1350-Best of The Best2.jpg